• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Gnocchi with Oregano-Butter Sauce (and my 100th post!)

I have never had gnocchi until I made this, but after seeing it on a Food Network show (I think it might have been Emeril), I knew I wanted to make it. I somehow just knew that I would love it. The only thing that stopped me was that I did not have a potato ricer. Finally, a few weeks ago, I picked one up at Williams Sonoma and knew that I could be on my way to making gnocchi soon.

I decided to try the version from Cook’s Illustrated because it seemed so straightforward. There were a few recommended sauces: a tomato-mint sauce, pesto, and a butter-sage sauce. I used the butter-sage sauce as inspiration and made it with oregano instead. Gnocchi is surprisingly easy to make. I wasn’t sure what exactly to expect in terms of taste, but I was really to find out how delicious it was. David described it as being like potato dumplings. I was really glad he loved it too, because I hate when I love something and he doesn’t because I know that means it will be a long time before I make it again! I really liked the sauce I chose to use with this. It was great with Parmesan cheese on top. I can’t wait to try different sauces when I make this again- and I will most definitely be making this again and again!

Potato Gnocchi (Source: Cook’s Illustrated March 1995)

2 pounds russet potatoes (or other baking potato), washed

1 ยผ cups unbleached all-purpose flour, plus more as needed

1 teaspoon table salt, plus more for cooking liquid

1. Heat oven to 400 degrees. Bake potatoes until a metal skewer slides easily through them, 45 minutes to 1 hour, depending on size.

2. Hold potato with a pot holder or kitchen towel and peel it with a vegetable peeler or paring knife (see illustration 1); rice peeled potato into a large bowl. Peel and rice remaining potatoes. Cool until potatoes are no longer hot, about 15 minutes.

3. Sprinkle 1 1/4 cups flour and 1 teaspoon salt over warm potatoes. Using your hands, work mixture into a soft, smooth dough. If dough is sticky (which is often the case), add more flour as needed, up to 1 1/2 cups total.

4. Roll about one-quarter of dough into a long 3/4-inch-thick rope (illustration 2). If rope won’t hold together (illustration 3), return it to bowl with remaining dough and work in more flour as needed. Repeat until all dough is rolled.

5. Cut rope of dough into 3/4-inch lengths (illustration 4). Holding butter paddle or fork in one hand, press each piece of cut dough against ridged surface with index finger to make an indentation in center. Roll dough down and off ridges and allow it to drop to work surface (illustrations 5, 6, and 7). (Gnocchi can be placed in a single layer on a baking sheet and refrigerated for several hours. Or, baking sheet can be placed in freezer for about 1 hour. Partially frozen gnocchi can be transferred to plastic bag or container, sealed, and frozen for up to 1 month.)

6. Bring 4 quarts of water to low boil in large pot. Add 2 teaspoons salt or to taste. Add about one-third of the gnocchi and cook until they float, 1 1/2 to 2 minutes (about 3 minutes for frozen gnocchi). Retrieve gnocchi with slotted spoon and transfer to warm, shallow serving bowl or platter. Repeat cooking process with remaining gnocchi; see related recipes for topping suggestions.

For Sauce:

6 tablespoons unsalted butter

12 whole fresh sage leaves, cut into thin strips, (other fresh herbs such as oregano, thyme, chives, or marjoram can be substituted)- I used oregano

ยฝ cup grated Parmesan cheese, plus extra for passing

7. For Sauce: Melt butter in small skillet. When butter foams, add sage. Remove pan from heat and set aside until needed.

9 Responses

  1. This looks and sounds absolutely amazing!! And congrats on your 100th!๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I didn’t know CI had a gnocci recipe! I’ll have to try this as I previous had tried Michael Chiarello’s recipe (which was pretty good)

  3. Looks great! I have never made gnocchi before but I plan to give it a try very soon. I had a different recipe bookmarked to try but CI is so trustworthy, I may have to go with this one!

  4. Happy 100th Post! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. yum! i love gnocchi and the butter sauce sounds good. congrats on your 100th post!

  6. Ooo yum great job on the gnocchi!! I love gnocchi though I’ve only made it once, and it was not the traditional kind. Though it was insanely delicious – lemon ricotta gnocchi, and then pan fried.

  7. Oh and congrats on your 100th post!!๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I added 2 beaten eggs to the gnocchi for a richer, more traditional gnocchi. I had never thought of using sage in a butter sauce for gnocchi and since I like sage I tried it and it was very good.

  9. Hi. Really solid information on Maqui Berry. I happened upon your good blog while searching yahoo. For the past few days I have been attempting to find more. Specially anything to do with the diet babble. I’ve witnessed it all and my best friend continues pressing her recent weight loss craze on me. So I’m glad I discovered you. All the best!

Leave a Reply

