• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Hummus

I first tried hummus for the first time almost two years ago. I had heard about how great hummus is from a few people, but I categorized it into a food that I wouldn’t eat because I thought it was too weird. This is unusual for me, because I will try almost anything at least once before deciding if I like it or not. In October 2006, when David and I were at his cousin’s wedding, they had hummus at the cocktail hour. I decided then that I should try it. I was surprised to discover that I loved hummus! I kept going back to that table for more. Even though I realized I liked it, I never had it much after that. A few months ago, David was talking about how he had tried hummus recently and liked it. He thought it would be great to make some at home. I thought this was a good idea, and I went to Cook’s Illustrated in search of a good recipe. I definitely found one, and this hummus is great! It’s really easy to make, and it has great flavor. We love snacking on it in the afternoons or in the evenings as we’re preparing dinner. This would also make a great appetizer for when you have people over. I will keep this in mind as football season approaches! One of the next baking endeavors I hope to make is homemade pita bread, which would be great with this.

Hummus (Source: Cook’s Illustrated February 2005)

1 (15-ounce) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 medium clove garlic, minced or pressed through a garlic press
¾ teaspoon table salt
Pinch cayenne pepper
3 tablespoons lemon juice, from 1 large lemon
¼ cup tahini
¼ cup olive oil
¼ cup water

Process all of the ingredients in a food processor until smooth, about 40 seconds. Transfer the hummus to a serving bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and chill until the flavors meld, at least 30 minutes; serve cold. (The hummus can be refrigerated for up to 2 days.)

Yield: about 2 cups

2 Responses

  1. Man. What didn’t I think of that?! I could have easily made hummus from scratch but resorted to buying it at TJs earlier today. (Sigh) Thanks for posting this and once I’m finished with the hummus I bought, I’m going to make this!

  2. That sounds so good. I love hummus.

Leave a Reply

