• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

July Daring Bakers: Filbert Gateau with Praline Buttercream

I was pretty excited when I found out that Chris of Mele Cotte chose a cake for this month’s challenge. I love cake and I was pretty excited about making one that is a step above a simple frosted layer cake. The Filbert Gateau is from Great Cakes by Carole Walter, which I decided to buy after experiencing this challenge. It’s pretty cheap on amazon.com, and I figured it would be a great go-to book when I want to find a cake for a special occasion.

This cake was not extremely difficult, but it did require careful attention. There were a lot of steps involved, but if you read the recipe carefully, you will find that it’s manageable if you take it a little bit at a time. I spent a good afternoon on the cake, and I think it was worth it. It was difficult to find hazelnuts around here, so I decided to use almonds instead. I also used Amaretto as a flavoring in the buttercream and in the gateau. I love the way the flavors blend together! This cake was pretty dense, almost like a pound cake. I thought it was delicious. Both my parents and my in-laws tried it and enjoyed it as well. My mother-in-law found it to be particularly enjoyable with some good tea as a nighttime treat🙂 Thanks Chris for a great recipe! Be sure to check out the Daring Bakers Blogroll to see how everyone else did with the challenge!

I don’t have any experience decorating cakes, but I did the best I could with the tip of a zip-lock bag😦 I can’t wait to take a Wilton class- I wanted to take one this summer, but the times unfortunately did not work out well. I decorate it with our married monogram since we got married fairly recently🙂

17 Responses

  1. Your layers look great. Good Job! I need to get the cookbook too, I think its probably worth it.

  2. This looks wonderful… I’m a fan of hazelnuts and the praline buttercream sounds awesome.

  3. I am so pleased the cake was enjoyed by all. Amaretto? Great choice! I have to remember that one. Thanks for a great job!

  4. Your layers are fantastic! I also used amaretto throughout🙂

  5. Its a job well done…the layers have come out nicely and it must have been very tasty, too….

  6. WOW…your layers are so nice and even. I can never slice a layer like that!!!

    Recently I took 2 cake decorating classes and I sure got over my fear of the pastry bag. Now I just need time to practice or maybe even repeat a class! I’ll wait until this winter though…the heat and humidity during my classes make the decorating tricky!

  7. Your cake came out nicely. Sounds wonderful!

  8. Your cake looks so delicious!
    Congratulations! You did a great job!🙂

  9. As you’ve illustrated, you don’t need to take a Wilton course to be able to decorate a cake. Ziplocks are a very good substitute and all you need to learn is how to cut the corners of the bag for different shapes.

    Good job on the cake.

  10. your cake looks awesome, but just so you know about pastry tips — you don’t have to buy a whole set of them! i bought a few individually for about $1 each at a cooking supply store, and now i’m obsessed with them! but it took me a long time to make the jump bc i’d assumed i needed to spend $30 on a huge set from Williams Sonoma or something — and you definitely dont!

    either way though, your cake looks wonderful!

  11. Mmm the cake looks delicious! I’d love a slice.

  12. Perfect layers, and how can you go wrong with a newlywed monogram?

  13. Nice job on the cake! I’ve been thinking that I might need to add this book to my collection as well.

  14. Mmm, that looks so good!

  15. look at those layers! you should try it with hazelnuts next time!

  16. […] Filbert Gateau with Praline Buttercream- this was a multi-step process that taught me some new techniques such as caramelization and how to be organized in the kitchen […]

Leave a Reply

