• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

There are so many chocolate chip cookie recipes out there. It seems as if every cookbook has a recipe. I’ve tried so many, but none have been quite what I’m looking for. A lot of them turn into bricks the next day, but the most common fault is that they’re too crispy and crumbly. I’ve heard good things about Baking Illustrated’s “Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies,” and they’ve been on my must-make list for several months now. When Chelle posted about them not too long ago, she reminded me that I need to bet my butt in gear and make them! It seems as if we’ve been thinking alike a lot lately when it comes to baking!

These were amazing cookies. They were everything you’d want in a chocolate chip cookie. They were firm, yet chewy. They were just thick enough and didn’t fall apart easily. They had the perfect amount of softness and great texture. I will definitely stick to this chocolate chip cookie recipe! When you pull them out of the oven, they probably won’t look done. Go ahead and take them out anyway! After they rest on the baking sheet, they’ll look just like you think they’re supposed to look. My husband David said “This is how a chocolate chip cookie is supposed to taste.” I agree!

Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies
(Source: Baking Illustrated, page 434)

Makes about 18 large cookies.

These oversized cookies are chewy and thick, like many of the chocolate chip cookies sold in gourmet shops and cookie stores. They rely on melted butter and an extra egg yolk to keep their texture soft. These cookies are best served warm from the oven but will retain their texture even when cooled. To ensure the proper texture, cool the cookies on the baking sheet. Oversized baking sheets allow you to get all the dough into the oven at one time. If you’re using smaller baking sheets, put fewer cookies on each sheet and bake them in batches.

2 cups plus 2 tablespoons (10 5/8 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted and cooled until warm
1 cup packed (7 ounces) light or dark brown sugar
1/2 cup (3 1/2 ounces) granulated sugar
1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1-1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (I used Hershey’s Special Dark because that’s what I had)

Adjust the oven racks to the upper- and lower-middle positions and heat the oven to 325 degrees. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper or spray them with nonstick cooking spray.

Whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt together in a medium bowl; set aside.

Either by hand or with an electric mixer, mix the butter and sugars until thoroughly blended. Beat in the egg, yolk, and vanilla until combined. Add the dry ingredients and beat at low speed just until combined. Stir in the chips to taste.

Roll a scant 1/4 cup of the dough into a ball. Hold the dough ball with the fingertips of both hands and pull into 2 equal halves. Rotate the halves 90 degrees and, with jagged surfaces facing up, join the halves together at their base, again forming a single ball, being careful not to smooth the dough’s uneven surface. Place the formed dough balls on the prepared baking sheets, jagged surface up, spacing them 2 1/2 inches apart.

Bake until the cookies are light golden grown and the outer edges start to harden yet the centers are still soft and puffy, 15 to 18 minutes, rotating the baking sheets front to back and top to bottom halfway through the baking time. Cool the cookies on the sheets. Remove the cooled cookies from the baking sheets with a side metal spatula.

13 Responses

  1. Chocolate chip cookies are definitely on my list to make this weekend. Looks awesome!

  2. Is this the recipe where they have you make a dough ball, pull it apart then smash it together so that top is craggy? I made those a few years ago, and everybody in my office loved them. I’ve been craving cc cookies lately for some reason, maybe I’ll give these a try this weekend. That book is on my shelf, I don’t bake from it nearly as often as I should.

  3. I agree! They are the BEST!

  4. Yes, Amy, this is the one! I thought it was an interesting technique. Definitely give them a try again, they were so good!

  5. Ah yum that first picture makes me want to eat the screen a little bit! I just made these from Chelley’s blog too.๐Ÿ™‚ I loved them the first 2 days but after that they got really dry, which I can’t stand with cookies that are meant to be soft/chewy.

  6. I absolutely love these cookies.. although for some reason the last few batches have turned soft on me.

  7. I’m so glad you posted this – that’s exactly the kind of cookie I’m looking for. I have the book and need to use it more often!

  8. These are wonderful cookies! Yours look so incredible.

  9. i made these recently and LOVE them! guess we should all thank chelle๐Ÿ™‚

  10. looks great! just the kind of cookie recipe that I was looking for. thanks!

  11. […] to please so for them it was between Chocolate Chip Cookies and Apple Pie. I saw this recipe on https://dinneranddessert.wordpress.com/2008/07/25/the-best-chocolate-chip-cookies/ for chocolate chip cookies and I really like the way they turned out. The recipe is originally from […]

  12. Hi there. I tried this recipe today. Think I gave it too much time as the edges hadn’t coloured perceptibly yet, so it was a bit crisp instead of chewy. I also reduced the sugar amount by 30 percent. It’s still delicious though as I added milk choc and white choc chips as well as macadamia nuts.๐Ÿ™‚

  13. ive noticed a trend, this is just about every bloggers favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. i havnt tried it yet because i already have my fav but im starting to think i need to try it, hope its worth it

Leave a Reply

