• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Taste and Create: Italian Pizza Macaroni

I decided to participate in Taste and Create for the first time this month. I had seen other bloggers participate, and it looks like a really fun way to get to know other people in the food community and try a new recipe. My partner for this round was For the Love of Food. She has some amazing recipes in her blog, and it was hard to choose what to make. I decided to make a main dish since I’ve been wanting to try a new dinner recipe. I was in the mood for pasta and as I was looking through the pasta section, I was drawn to the Italian Pizza Macaroni. It looked to delicious and cheesy, and I knew this is what I wanted to make. I really enjoyed it. I think next time I would add more sauce and more spices to the sauce, but otherwise it was great. It didn’t take too long to make- it was about an hour from start to finish, including baking time. It’s a great weeknight meal to put together.

Italian Pizza Macaroni

Ingredients:
500 grams Macaroni Noodles (I used a 1-pound box)
400 grams Whole Peeled Tomatoes (I used a 28-ounce can of diced tomatoes)
1 Tablespoon Tomato Paste
1 teaspoon Paprika
1 teaspoon Salt
a dash of Pepper
1/2 a very small Onion, diced
1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
1/2 a Recipe of Homemade Italian Sausage
2 balls (about 400 grams total) of wet Mozzarella Cheese

Directions:
Preheat oven to 200°C (392°F). (I set it on 390).

In a sauce pan heat the olive oil over medium-high heat and saute the onion in it. Then, add the whole tomatoes – break them up with a spatula – as well as the tomato paste, paprika, salt, and pepper. Bring to a boil, and then reduce the heat and let it simmer for 20 minutes. Adjust the flavors as you see fit.

In the mean while, prepare the Italian sausage according to the recipe and cook the macaroni according to package directions. Drain the macaroni and set aside.

One the sauce is done, mix in the macaroni and then pour it into a casserole dish. Top it with Italian sausage and cheese.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the cheese has melted and started to golden.

Makes 4-6 servings.

4 Responses

  1. This looks great! I love the cheesy topping and I just make this since I have all the ingredients on hand!

  2. Yummm looks like perfect comfort food!

  3. This looks delicious! I am really craving mac and cheese now.

  4. […] – bookmarked by 1 members originally found by TWISTshow on 2008-08-20 Taste and Create: Italian Pizza Macaroni https://dinneranddessert.wordpress.com/2008/07/23/taste-and-create-italian-pizza-macaroni/ – […]

Leave a Reply

