• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Mixed Berry Cobbler

I did not like this cobbler. This is a first for me, as I have enjoyed all of the recipes we’ve made for TWD so far. I had high expectations for this, and it sure did disappoint.

I’m from South Carolina, so I’ve been eating cobblers ever since I can remember. Most commonly it’s a peach cobbler, but sometimes blueberry (my favorite). I think that I have had some of the best cobbler in my lifetime. So I was interested to find out what this version would be like. I used blueberries and raspberries. It was a lot different from my usual cobbler recipe. This recipe used cream instead of milk, and you cut cold butter into dough before topping the fruit with it. With my other recipe, you melt the butter by putting the butter in the baking dish and then spreading the other dry ingredients on top of that. Then you spoon the fruit over that and during baking, the fruit rises to the top and you have doughy, fruity goodness. Not the case with this version. I found the dough to be way to thick, causing it to not mesh with the fruit like a cobbler should do. The fruit just stuck to the bottom of the dough. So, needless to say, I will be sticking to my old recipe from now on. Hopefully I will get to make it soon and will post it. Even though I was not a fan of this, I still love Dorie and will look forward to baking more of her (usually) delicious recipes. Check out our TWD blog to see how everyone else did with the cobbler, as well as Beth’s blog, Our Sweet Life, who chose this week’s recipe.

12 Responses

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t like this recipe. Your cobbler description sounds perfect, however.
    I wonder if we had gotten more fruit juice (I added extra sugar to the fruit to help it juice up) this recipe would have better resembled the cobblers we are more used to.

  2. It’s interesting that people have either loved or hated this one… there is no middle ground. I’m sorry it didn’t work for you, but I appreciate your honest assessment and I look forward to reading and perhaps trying your go-to recipe.

  3. Yeah, your type of cobbler is how I make peach cobbler. Which I got the recipe from all of my hubby’s granparents and aunt’s in the south. And I love it that way.
    But the biscuit topping is what I grew up on so I would have probably liked this.

  4. Sorry you did not like the cobbler. It sure looks yummy though!

  5. At least you have a go-to cobbler recipe that you already love. Maybe you can be convinced to share?🙂

  6. I am a cobbler newbie, so many variations to try. Sorry to hear your were not pleased with the recipe.

    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

  7. Your cobbler looks fantastic!!

  8. Sorry that you didn’t like it, but it still looks great!

  9. I think maybe we southern gals are just used to a different type of cobbler…i think sweet, puffy dough all covered in juice…to me, this was more like a bottomless pie. good, but not what I consider a cobbler. but at least now we know, right?

  10. Well, at least now you know how much you love your own cobbler recipe.

  11. Testify! Not many Southerners were into Dorie’s biscuit crust, myself included.

  12. it looks delicious, sorry you didn’t enjoy it. you probably wouldn’t like my favorite cobbler recipe, either, though, as the dough doesn’t “mesh” with the fruit in that recipe either.

Leave a Reply

