• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Peppermint Cream Puff Ring

So mine isn’t exactly a ring. I decided that I didn’t want a full ring to have around, so I only made part of the recipe and made small cream puffs instead. They were more like eclairs, which used to be one of my favorite treats. I haven’t had one in a while, so it was nice to have something like that again. I wasn’t sure if I would like the cream or not, but it was really good. I liked the peppermint flavor and how it went with the chocolate. The recipe calls for fresh mint leaves in the cream, but the grocery stores around here aren’t exactly known for having anything remotely unusual, so I had to use peppermint extract instead. It ended up working fine. The cream had great flavor. I really liked the dough too because it was nice and flaky. Layers of dough in a dessert almost always win in my book🙂 Overall I enjoyed this recipe and would recommend it. This week’s recipe was chosen by Caroline of A Consuming Passion. Next week we’ll be making Mixed Berry Cobbler, chosen by Beth of Our Sweet Life. Be sure to check out the other cream puff rings made by the wonderful TWD bakers!

20 Responses

  1. Glad you enjoyed the recipe, so did I.

    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

  2. Very pretty – and two chocolate mint things in two days, what a coincidence!

  3. Wow, yours looks so light and airy, great colour on your pastry.

  4. I also used peppermint extract in the cream.
    That eclair looks delish!!!

  5. Wow, look at that big monster puff. Looks great. I love the doughy desserts too.

  6. Yum! I’m sure it taste fabulous!

  7. Your cream puffs look great but I must admit I am quite distracted by that brownie in the previous post…YUMMY!!!

  8. Glad to know the extract works fine! So much easier! FYI, mint grows like weeds – in fact, we call the mint we planted “our weeds” because it grows so rampant…if you don’t have any space, you can grow it easily in a little pot – you should try! I know what it’s like when the grocery store carries only the staples!
    Great job!

  9. Your puffs look great! Glad the extract worked out for you!

  10. I used peppermint extract too, worked like a charm! Your puff/éclair looks delicious!

  11. Your cream puff looks great! I think there are a lot of us who went with individual puffs instead of the ring.

  12. Looks great!

  13. Holy Toledo-those look good, but I really want one of those brownies below. YUM!

  14. yum! They look so tasty! Great job!

  15. Lovely! Those puffs look perfect.

  16. I like (and intend to emulate) the small puff approach… as soon as my schedule permits. Yours look yummy…great job!

  17. Its like a cream puff donut! It look absolutely yum-tastic! Great job!
    Clara @ I♥food4thought

  18. i liked the mint cream, but enjoyed the chocolate cream even more🙂 your eclairs look great!

  19. I made small cream puffs because I didn’t want a big ring around either. I think it might have been a good break that you used extract. I ended up not like the fresh mint I used. Maybe it was just the mint I used but it tasted pretty grassy.

  20. […] choose a doughnut with sprinkles, but my mom and I almost always chose an eclair.  I had made this type of pasty before for Tuesdays with Dorie, and wanted to see how the recipes would […]

Leave a Reply

