• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: La Palette’s Strawberry Tart

This is my first post as I am getting back from the wedding and honeymoon and settling into married life! We moved in last week, but the whole process took a while. I couldn’t wait to unpack my kitchen stuff and get back to baking. I was able to bake a little bit when I was staying with my parents before the wedding, but it wasn’t the same without my own baking sheets, mixing bowls, and other kitchen things. I really enjoyed moving into a new kitchen and getting more space for my baking tools (but I think I still need more room!).

I am happy to get back into Tuesdays with Dorie as well. The first thing I baked in my new kitchen were the French Chocolate Brownies, but I was too late to post them with everyone else last week, so I’ll catch up on that post later. So my first official post as I come back is La Palette’s Strawberry Tart, chosen by Marie of A Year From Oak Cottage. This was a great choice because strawberries are in season and so good right now. I was pretty excited about this one. I made the tart dough for the Lemon Cream Tart a while ago, but at that time I didn’t have a tart pan, but since I have one now, I was excited about making my first real tart. It also gave me a chance to practice more with making tart dough. The tart cracked a bit when I cut into it, but Dorie assured us all that this is okay because this is a rustic dessert and the tart is almost cookie-like. That made me feel a bit better. I really liked the the way the strawberry jam tasted with the strawberries. It was a great alternative to the usual strawberry shortcake. I would make this again and try a different type of fruit as well- I think fresh peaches would be lovely! Thanks Marie for choosing this week’s recipe. We sure did enjoy it! Be sure to visit our Tuesdays with Dorie blogroll to see everyone else’s tarts!ย  Be sure to check back next week for the Peppermint Cream Puff Ring, chosen by Caroline of A Consuming Passion!

And because you might be interested, here’s a wedding picture! We haven’t gotten our pro pictures in, but once we do, I’m planning to make a Google Pages site to share our pictures with everyone, and I post that once I create it.

24 Responses

  1. Lovely picture! How exciting! Now, you will no doubt have all sorts of fun new kitchen toys.

  2. aaawww you were such a gorgeous bride! Congrats on your wedding and glad to have you back in the kitchen baking with us again!
    Clara @ Iโ™ฅfood4thought

  3. Congratulations! You guys look so happy. And I KNOW you’re happy to have your own kitchen. Yessssssssssss.๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Ooh. Yeah, cooking in someone elses kitchen? I feel you. Congratulations on the new kitchen, oh and husband. That slice looks yummy.

  5. you are a beautiful couple and look so happy! oh yeah– glad you liked the tart, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. congratulations!!! you both look so happy!

  7. What a beautiful bride! I’m impressed that you’re back to TWD so quickly!

  8. Congrats on your wedding and it’s great to have you back with TWD so soon!

  9. Yeah for the picture!! Gorgeous dress! Wonderful to have you back!

  10. aww! beautiful pictures — both of you and the tart! :0) congrats!

  11. Congrats on your wedding! It’s great to have you back๐Ÿ™‚

  12. What great looking couple! Congrats! And welcome back – your tart looks yummy!

  13. Congratulations, and welcome back! Lovely picture of the two of you. And your tart looks wonderful, too. =)

  14. Beautiful picture of the two of you! Congratulations!! And congrats on a new kitchen, too – though I’ll tell you, no matter how much space you have, you can always use more! Welcome back! Oh – and great job with the tart, too!

  15. Congratulations on your wedding and a gorgeous tart, and welcome back. Best wishes for a lifetime of love and laughter together.

    Oh… and you’ll *never* have enough kitchen space.๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Mazel tov! And your tart looks good enough to eat. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. congratulations, and your tart looks tasty!

  18. Huge Congrats on your wedding! The tart looks wonderful.

  19. You two look so sweet together! I wish you a long and joyous life filled with lots of yummy baked goods!

  20. Congrats! What a lovely wedding photo! Welcome back to TWD, I look forward to seeing more of your delicious treats!

  21. great close up pic! cheers!

  22. Congrats! Hope you put lots of baking equip on your registry. Here at TWD you always need another tart pan๐Ÿ™‚

  23. Congratulations! Great job on the tart!
    Shari@Whisk: a food blog

  24. congrats again mrs๐Ÿ™‚

    your tart looks great!

Leave a Reply

