• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

May Daring Bakers Challenge: Opera Cake, brought to you from my honeymoon in the Bahamas!

I wasn’t sure if I would be able to participate in this month’s challenge. For me, May meant a busy month consisting of finishing grad school, moving, and getting married. I knew that the challenge had to sound really good for me to make time to participate, but I knew that with Ivonne and Lis as the hostesses (also the co-founders of the Daring Bakers), it would probably be a good one. I was really excited to find out what the challenge would be and was very interested when I found out it was an Opera Cake. I had never heard of an Opera Cake, but after reading the recipe, I knew that I had to find the time to make it.

The recipe looks complicated at first, but once you read through it, you’ll find that it’s manageable. The recipe consists of five components: the jaconde, a syrup, buttercream, a white chocolate ganache/mousse, and a glaze. The opera cake is time consuming, but I just focused on one component at a time and it all came together and made one delicious cake. The only thing I was disappointed with was that my glaze didn’t set as beautifully as some of the other Daring Bakers’ cakes did. It just kind of dripped down the sides. It’s okay though, because I am more than happy with the taste. We were given freedom in the flavorings we used. I used almond extract for the buttercream, and for the ganache, I used Amaretto liqueur. The Amaretto goes very well with the almond extract, and I knew I could use it for my favorite drink, the Amaretto Sour🙂

So by the time you read this, I will finally be a Mrs.! David and I were married on May 24 in our hometown (we are high school sweethearts) after 6 years together and are taking our honeymoon cruise to the Bahamas. I will have to wait and visit the Daring Bakers’ blogs when we return. I can’t wait to see how the Opera Cakes turned out! Thanks to Ivonne and Lis for hosting this month’s challenge, as well as Fran and Shea for co-hosting! You can find the recipe on their blogs. Be sure to check out the Daring Bakers Blogroll for more Opera Cakes.

25 Responses

  1. Your Opera Cake looks fantastic Erin! I hope your wedding was perfect and that you’re having a blast on your honeymoon!

  2. Mine dripped down the sides too🙂 I hope the wedding went off without a hitch and you’re having a wonderful honeymoon!

  3. Congratulations, Mrs. sctiger! I can’t wait to hear all about it. The cakes looks delish, by the way!

  4. CONGRATULATIONS on your marriage!!! How exciting! The cake looks wonderful and delicious!! Have a fantastic honeymoon!!

  5. Wow! I can’t imagine making this cake in the weeks before my wedding. I’m impressed! Congrats!

  6. Congratulations on everything you did in May, including tackling this cake. How impressive. It looks delicious with all the glaze.

  7. Well, congrats on your wedding – and I’m glad to see I’m not the only one that had glaze issues. Mine dripped and pulled the mousse with it!!

  8. congrats on your marriage! Hope you are having a blast on the honeymoon! Great job on your opera cake!

  9. Congratulations! How wonderful! And what a devoted DBer you are! Lovely opera cake, suitably colored for the wedding! And I bet you had a fabulous wedding dessert too!

  10. Congratulations on getting married! your cake looks lovely and sounds delicious!

  11. Congratulations! You are dedicated to post amongst all the busy-ness of getting married! Your cake looks great!
    Shari@Whisk: a food blog

  12. Congratulations “Mrs.” on a job well done!

  13. Congrats on your marriage & your opera cake, too!

  14. I can’t believe you actually had to time to squeeze this cake in between all that! You’re hardcore! Congratulations on your nuptials, I wish you both a long, happy and cake filled life together!🙂

  15. I hope you will be happy for the rest of your life.

    Amazing you squeezed the cake in your schedule, it looks great

    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

  16. That you managed a wedding, a graduation and this glorious cake in a single month proves without a doubt that you are a daring baker. Congratulations… on all counts… and a lifetime of love and happiness to you and David.

  17. Well congratulations on everything! You cake is lovely, and your butter cream looks fantastic. All you needed to do was chill the cake up a bit and trim down the sides. May you and David have a long and happy life.

  18. Wow, I can’t believe you finished this uber-time consuming cake wtih all of that going on! You must be superwoman.

    Congrats on everything, including a scruptious looking cake.

  19. Wow, what a busy month! Congrats on getting married, graduating and that lovely tasty cake.

  20. Congratulations! I’m a newlywed myself–highly recommend it!

  21. great job with the opera cake!

    congrats MRS! hope you are enjoying your HM🙂

  22. I’m super impressed that you did this challenge while preparing for a wedding…yay! Congrats on your marriage…hope the trip was wonderful. I think your cake looks great…and your glaze was SO much better than mine…you can’t even see the layer on my cake!

  23. Hi Erin,

    My name is Shannon and I’m the editorial assistant at Foodbuzz.com. I am very impressed with the quality of your posts and to that end, I’d like to invite you to be a part of our newly launched Foodbuzz Featured Publisher program. I would love to send you more details about the program, so if you are interested, please email me at Shannon@foodbuzz.com.

    Cheers!

    Shannon Eliot
    Editorial Assistant, Foodbuzz.com
    shannon@foodbuzz.com

  24. Well done to fit so much in. Your cake looks devine. My glaze cooled too much and seized on top.

  25. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

