• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

April Daring Bakers: Cheesecake Pops

This month’s Daring Bakers Challenge was hosted by Elle of Feeding My Enthusiasms and Deborah of Taste & Tell. Thank you Deborah and Elle for hosting! They chose the Cheesecake Pops from Jill O’Connor’s book Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey. I’ve seen many bloggers make recipes from this book, and I think that I might have to add it to my collection soon. I am not a huge cheesecake fan, but I know many people who are, so I’ve made a few cheesecakes before when they are requested, and I’m always happy to do it. My sister and her boyfriend are cheesecake fanatics, and they loved these, especially during exam week at Clemson University.

I did not find these to be difficult. The entire process went very smoothly. I just made half of the recipe and didn’t have any trouble. I think that my cheesecake set in about 30 minutes. I was very pleased with how it set. It didn’t crack and had the perfect consistency. I refrigerated it overnight and shaped the cheesecake balls and put them in the freeze the next morning. That night I dipped them in chocolate and covered them i sprinkles. If you want to get more creative, these would be great covered in mini M&Ms, mini chocolate chips, graham cracker crumbs, nuts, or swirled with white chocolate. These came together so well and I was very pleased. I would make them again. They would be great to serve at a party because you can still eat cheesecake, but get a bite sized version. Be sure to visit the Daring Bakers Blogroll to see the creative Cheesecake Pops the other Daring Bakers created!

Cheesecake Pops

Makes 30 – 40 Pops

5 8-oz. packages cream cheese at room temperature

2 cups sugar

¼ cup all-purpose flour

¼ teaspoon salt

5 large eggs

2 egg yolks

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

¼ cup heavy cream

Boiling water as needed

Thirty to forty 8-inch lollipop sticks

1 pound chocolate, finely chopped – you can use all one kind or half and half of dark, milk, or white (Alternately, you can use 1 pound of flavored coatings, also known as summer coating, confectionary coating or wafer chocolate – candy supply stores carry colors, as well as the three kinds of chocolate.)

2 tablespoons vegetable shortening

(Note: White chocolate is harder to use this way, but not impossible)

Assorted decorations such as chopped nuts, colored jimmies, crushed peppermints, mini chocolate chips, sanding sugars, dragees) – Optional

Position oven rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 325 degrees F. Set some water to boil.

In a large bowl, beat together the cream cheese, sugar, flour, and salt until smooth. If using a mixer, mix on low speed. Add the whole eggs and the egg yolks, one at a time, beating well (but still at low speed) after each addition. Beat in the vanilla and cream.

Grease a 10-inch cake pan (not a springform pan), and pour the batter into the cake pan. Place the pan in a larger roasting pan. Fill the roasting pan with the boiling water until it reaches halfway up the sides of the cake pan. Bake until the cheesecake is firm and slightly golden on top, 35 to 45 minutes.

Remove the cheesecake from the water bath and cool to room temperature. Cover the cheesecake with plastic wrap and refrigerate until very cold, at least 3 hours or up to overnight.

When the cheesecake is cold and very firm, scoop the cheesecake into 2-ounce balls and place on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Carefully insert a lollipop stick into each cheesecake ball. Freeze the cheesecake pops, uncovered, until very hard, at least 1 – 2 hours.

When the cheesecake pops are frozen and ready for dipping, prepare the chocolate. In the top of a double boiler, set over simmering water, or in a heatproof bowl set over a pot of simmering water, heat half the chocolate and half the shortening, stirring often, until chocolate is melted and chocolate and shortening are combined. Stir until completely smooth. Do not heat the chocolate too much or your chocolate will lose it’s shine after it has dried. Save the rest of the chocolate and shortening for later dipping, or use another type of chocolate for variety.

Alternately, you can microwave the same amount of chocolate coating pieces on high at 30 second intervals, stirring until smooth.

Quickly dip a frozen cheesecake pop in the melted chocolate, swirling quickly to coat it completely. Shake off any excess into the melted chocolate. If you like, you can now roll the pops quickly in optional decorations. You can also drizzle them with a contrasting color of melted chocolate (dark chocolate drizzled over milk chocolate or white chocolate over dark chocolate, etc.) Place the pop on a clean parchment paper-lined baking sheet to set. Repeat with remaining pops, melting more chocolate and shortening (or confectionary chocolate pieces) as needed.

Refrigerate the pops for up to 24 hours, until ready to serve.

24 Responses

  1. They look fantastic!

  2. These look adorable! Great job!

  3. You pops look great! Congrats on a job well done!

  4. These look so festive–perfect for a summer birthday, imo.

    j

  5. Great job!

  6. Very pretty! You were lucky–no troubles. Great job!

  7. Lovely and adorable!

  8. Very nice! I would halve the recipe next time too, not only to cut down on baking time but also because a full recipe just makes so many. Your cheesecake-loving friends are lucky that you don’t mind baking it for them.

  9. Cute! These came out so purty!!🙂

  10. Wow! I’m impressed you didn’t have any hiccups in the process at all. You are a natural and your pops look great! I love the sprinkles…

  11. Wonderful job! they look absolutely perfect!

  12. Your pops look great. Hey, I just live down the road from you!

  13. I’m loving looking at all of these DB posts for the cheesecake pops. They look delish.

  14. Great looking cheesecake pops!

  15. Great looking pops!! I think that we had the same thinking on decorations for these!

  16. Cute looking pops! You did a great job!

  17. Great picture of the cheesecake pop with the condensation on it.

  18. I have given you a blogging with a purpose award on my blog. I love looking at your photos and reading your recipes! Thanks!

  19. They look wonderful!! Great job!

  20. Oh yeah, these would be the perfect late night study aid.🙂 Great job!

  21. Great job on your pops!

    Natalie @ Gluten a Go Go

  22. your pops are so cute!

  23. […] cheesecake (since I didn’t get a picture of the big cheesecake I made) and I also made some cheesecake balls to take to my mom since she saw them on my blog when I made them for Daring Bakers.  She heard […]

  24. […] Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey for Christmas and had yet to make anything from it (except for the Cheesecake Pops, which I made in April 2008 for Daring Bakers before I had my own copy of the book).  As I looked […]

Leave a Reply

