• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays With Dorie: Snickery Squares

img_0547.jpg

This week it was my turn to choose the recipe. I am glad that I joined so early, otherwise it would be forever before I would get my turn. Our group is really growing! I had a really hard time deciding because everything in Dorie’s book looks so good. I finally narrowed it down to a brownie, cookie, or some type of bar dessert. I kept coming back to the picture of the Snickery Squares and remembered that it was one of the first recipes to catch my eye when I began to look through this book. So Snickery Squares it was!

Although they didn’t taste like a Snickers bar, they were still delicious. I’m sure my dad would love these and I’ll definitely try to make these next time I’m there for a visit. This was my first experience with dulce de leche. There is only one grocery store in my area that carries it, but I think that next time I will make my own. I really liked the shortbread layer in these and the way the dulce de leche, the caramelized peanuts, and the chocolate went together. It’s a great treat to bring when you have a group of people to bake for. This was my first time caramelizing peanuts, and I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was. It really gave the peanuts a great flavor and was so much better than adding just plain peanuts to the recipe. I made the shortbread layer, let it cool, and then added the dulce de leche and the peanuts and let it sit in the refrigerator overnight. The next day I made the chocolate layer and added it on top. I think having it chilled made it easier to spread the chocolate layer, so I guess I lucked up when I made that decision =) All in all, this was a great Dorie recipe and one that I’ll be saving. Be sure to check out our Tuesdays With Dorie blog to see how everyone else did with the Snickery Squares.

Next week we’ll be making the Russian Grandmothers’ Apple Pie Cake, chosen by Natalie of Burned Bits.

img_0546.jpg

Snickery Squares

For the Crust:

1 cup all-purpose flour
¼ cup sugar
2 TBSP powdered sugar
¼ tsp salt
1 stick unsalted butter, cut into small pieces and chilled
1 large egg yolk, lightly beaten

For the Filling:

½ cup sugar
3 TBSP water
1 ½ cups salted peanuts
About 1 ½ cups store-bought dulce de leche

For the Topping:

7 ounces bittersweet, coarsely chopped
½ stick unsalted butter, cut into 8 pieces, at room temperature

Getting Ready:

Preheat oven to 350F. Butter a 8 inch square pan and put it on a baking sheet.

To Make the Crust:

Toss the flour, sugar, powdered sugar and salt into a food processor and pulse a few times to combine. Toss in the pieces of cold butter and pulse about 12 times, until the mixture looks like coarse meal. Pour the yolk over the ingredients and pulse until the dough forms clumps and curds-stop before the dough comes together in a ball.
Turn the dough into the buttered pan and gently press it evenly across the bottom of the pan. Prick the dough with a fork and slide the sheet into the oven.
Bake the crust for 15-20 minutes, or until it takes on just a little color around the edges. Transfer the pan to a rack and cool to room temperature before filling.

To Make the Filling:

Have a parchment or silicone mat-lined baking sheet at the ready, as well as a long-handled wooden spoon and a medium heavy bottomed saucepan.
Put the sugar and water in the saucepan and cook over medium-high heat, stirring, until the sugar dissolves. Keeping the heat fairly high, continue to cook the sugar, without stirring, until it just starts to color. Toss the peanuts and immediately start stirring. Keep stirring, to coat the peanuts with sugar. Within a few minutes, they will be covered with sugar and turn white—keep stirring until the sugar turns back into caramel. When the peanuts are coated with a nice deep amber caramel, remove the pan from the heat and turn the nuts out onto the baking sheet., using the wooden spoon to spread them out as best you can. Cool the nuts to room temperature.
When they are cool enough to handle, separate the nuts or break them into small pieces. Divide the nuts in half. Keep half of the nuts whole or in biggish pieces for the filling, and finely chop the other half for the topping.
Spread the dulce de leche over the shortbread base and sprinkle over the whole candied nuts.

To Make the Topping:

Melt the chocolate in a heatproof bowl set over a saucepan of barely simmering water. Remove chocolate from the heat and gently stir in the butter, stirring until it is fully blended into the chocolate.
Pour the chocolate over the dulce de leche, smoothing it with a long metal icing spatula, then sprinkle over the rest of the peanuts. Slide the pan into the fridge to set the topping, about 20 minutes; if you’d like to serve the squares cold, keep them refrigerated for at least 3 hours before cutting.

Cut into 16 bars.

24 Responses

  1. Thanks so much for picking a truly delicious recipe! I really enjoyed mine. Yours look decadently wonderful. I forgot to get peanuts and so ended up making mine with pecans. Very good, very, very good. I am having to hold myself back to keep myself from eating the whole pan. Once again thanks!

  2. It looks like your bars turned out great! Nice photos. I was also very surprised at how easy it was to do the caramel peanuts. I’ve already got plans for trying that with other nuts. Mmm, cashews. =)

  3. Thanks for hosting. Your squares look delish! Great job!
    -Clara
    http://iheartfood4thought.wordpress.com

  4. Great job with yours Erin! Thanks for a great pic this week!

  5. Great pick for this week! Your bars looked great!

  6. Looks great! You were a wonderful hostess with the mostess🙂

  7. your excellent choice of recipe made a really crazy, hectic week feel somewhat better! thank you, thank you, thank you!

    i love that you got all 3 layers fairly even!! gorgeous!!!

  8. They look great Erin, I am truly sad I skipped this week. Great choice in recipe!

  9. Thanks for choosing such a great recipe, it’s yummy indeed!🙂

  10. it seems like most people love your choice! yours turned out beautifully….the pictures are great….

  11. Those look like super awesome! The co-workers all agreed it didn’t taste like a Snickers but they fought over the last piece! LOL

  12. I learned a lot from this recipe. This was my first with the nuts too and I loved that part! Your bars look fabulous!

  13. Your shortbread layer looks just beautiful. 🙂

  14. Your squares look great! I was a big fan of the candied peanuts as well. I was surprised at how easy they were to make! Thanks again for hosting…great choice!

  15. Those up-close shots just killed me. Now all I want is another square, and people at work ate them all! Beautifully tasty!

  16. Good choice – your bars look great!

  17. Your snickery squares look delicious. I had to pay attention not to eat all the candied peanuts before putting them on the bars😉

  18. nice recipe choice–this one was lots of fun!

  19. Although these weren’t my cup of tea, I had a lot of fun making them, and all my friends and colleagues had a lot of fun eating them! Thanks for choosing this recipe and pushing me out of my comfort zone!

  20. great job! thanks for picking this recipe🙂 they would be so easy to make in a pinch and i agree they’d be great to bring to a gathering!

  21. Great choice of recipe! I noticed that the folks I served it to who loved Snickers bars weren’t really a big fan, but those of us who aren’t really fans of the candy bar loved this dessert. Funny, huh?

    You beat me to the cookie/bar area first, btw! 😀

  22. […] recipe, I kept going back and forth among this one and a few others, but eventually went with the Snickery Squares. I hoped that this would get chosen soon because I wanted an excuse to make […]

  23. […] other members of You won’t be sorry!!BTW These were the weekly choice in March of 2008 by Dinner and Dessert and you can find the recipe on her site.   LikeBe the first to like this […]

  24. […] Neither of my photos look particularly blue or berry-y, so let me explain. I’m still traumatized from my last blueberry pie experience. I just couldn’t brave it. I know, I’m a sissy. Instead, I went into the TwD archives and found these rocking Snickery Bars, previously hosted by Dinner & Dessert. […]

Leave a Reply

