• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Shrimp Etoufee

img_0443.jpg

I love shrimp and am always willing to try new shrimp recipes. I was looking through my Joy of Cooking cookbook and started marking meals to try. Shrimp Etoufee was one of those dishes, and I decided to make it tonight because I had been craving a good shrimp dinner. I knew I could count on the Joy of Cooking for a good, authentic recipe. David and I both loved this. It was nice and spicy and I loved all of the flavors together. I will definitely be making this again!

3 pounds medium to large shrimp, peeled and deveined

Toss with:

1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon dried thyme
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon ground black pepper
½ teaspoon dried basil
¼ teaspoon ground red pepper

Set aside. In a large, flat-bottomed pot or skillet (I used a Dutch oven), stir together over medium heat:

3 tablespoons vegetable oil
3 tablespoons flour

Cook, stirring constantly, until the roux is almost as dark as milk chocolate, about 20 minutes. Stir in:

1 cup chopped onions
½ cup chopped celery
¼ cup chopped red bell peppers
¼ cup chopped green bell peppers (for this I used all green bell peppers)
¼ cup chopped andouille sausage or smoked ham (I used sausage)

Cook, stirring, until the vegetables are golden brown, 5 to 6 minutes. The roux will continue to darken to a deep mahogany color. Add:

2 tablespoons chopped garlic
¼ teaspoon dried sage, crumbled
¼ teaspoon dried thyme

Stir well and cook for 1 minute more. Stir in:

2 cups chicken stock
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
¼ teaspoon hot red pepper sauce, or to taste

Stirring constantly, bring the sauce to a simmer. Add the spice-coated shrimp to the skillet and bring the liquid back to a simmer. Reduce the heat so the sauce bubbles gently, cover, and cook until the shrimp are just firm and pink, and are curled, about 10 minutes. Add:

½ cup finely chopped scallions
¼ cup chopped fresh parsley

Season to taste with:

Salt and ground black pepper
Hot red pepper sauce

Serve with cooked rice.

Makes 4 servings.

Source: The Joy of Cooking

4 Responses

  1. Yum, Yum, and YUM. Looks scrumptious!

  2. This looks AMAZING! So delicious looking and I LOVE that you got it from Joy of Cooking. I must go through mine to find some more good recipes like this.🙂

  3. looks delicious!

  4. […] Penne with Pancetta, Spinach, and a Buttery Crumb Topping Shrimp Etoufee Quintuple Chocolate […]

Leave a Reply

