• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Christmas Dessert: Carrot Cake



Carrot cake is a very popular dessert with my family. My mom got this recipe from a friend many years ago and we’ve been using it ever since. We’ve never had it at Christmas- it’s usually an Easter dessert or made for a birthday or other special event, but my dad requested it for Christmas this year, so I made one. I love this cake because it’s so moist. I also love the cream cheese frosting. I don’t even bother trying out new carrot cake recipes because I love this one so much! This is also David’s favorite cake and he generally requests it for his birthday or anytime we go somewhere where I need to bring something. Here’s the recipe:

1 ¼ cups canola oil
2 cups sugar
4 eggs, beaten
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup black walnuts (optional)
3 cups grated carrots

Mix oil and sugar; add eggs and blend. Sift together dry ingredients and add to creamed mixture. Stir in nuts. Add carrots slowly, blending well. Pour batter evenly into 3 greased and floured pans. Bake at 325 for 30 minutes.

Frosting and Filling:

1 stick margarine or butter (I always use butter)
1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese
1 box confectioners’ sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 cup chopped nuts

Mix all ingredients; blend until smooth and creamy. Add a small amount of half-and-half or milk if it is too stiff. Spread between layers and top and sides of cake.

7 Responses

  1. […] be like. Carrot cake is David’s favorite cake and it is a favorite in my family as well. My mom’s carrot cake recipe gets requested for birthdays and holidays all the time, and for good reason. It is incredibly […]

  2. I’m curious- why do you use margerine rather than butter in the icing. Does it give a better texture?

    • As far as I know, it doesn’t have anything to do with texture; it’s just that you can use whatever you have on hand. I always use butter actually, and meant to put that in my post. You can see that I just updated it. I don’t think I’ve ever used margarine in it. This is an amazing carrot cake- you should try it if you get a chance!🙂

  3. […] were told to bring in a square cake.  I let David choose which type of cake to make, and he picked carrot cake, which is one of his favorites.  Our instructor told us to coat the cake with a thin layer of […]

  4. […] favorite, I wanted to make it for dessert.  I’ve tried several carrot cake recipes, and this recipe remains my favorite for a classic carrot cake, and I loved the Tropical Carrot Cake version I made […]

  5. Primarily it sold fried chicken but now due to a lot of competition in
    this type of food market it has come up with different types of burgers, sandwiches and salads to capture the
    market. Just try imagining a car with a Dominos sign placed on its roof gunning it through red lights, probably not the kind of advertisement the company had been looking for.

    Many mobile sites can remember what you previously ordered, making re ordering just a click away.

  6. Investing in a compressor that is too small is going
    to waste time or just flat out won’t do
    the job. However if you do not need to bring
    it to another area then there is no need for a portable one.
    Gas-powered unit is more portable but not appropriate in enclosed areas for it releases fumes.

Leave a Reply

