• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Almond Joy Brownies

I recently made Almond Joy Ice Cream, and Katrina left a comment on my blog saying that she just posted these brownies earlier that week.  I’m not sure how I missed her post, but I’m sure glad she pointed it out to me!  I said in my previous post that I love Almond Joy candy bars, but the flavor is even better in these brownies.  The best part about these brownies for me was that they are gluten free, thanks to the use of coconut flour.  It’s fine to use regular flour if you don’t care about them being gluten free, but I would recommend using coconut flour if you can because it gives the brownies a stronger flavor.

These brownies were only slightly more complicated than regular brownies to make because you have the coconut layer in between.  My only issue was that there wasn’t really enough brownie batter for both a bottom and top layer, so next time (and you better believe I’m making these again!) I will increase the brownie batter.  I reflected those changes below.  These are the perfect brownies to enjoy with some ice cream, so when you make them, be sure to make some Almond Joy Ice Cream to pair them together!

Almond Joy Brownies
Source: adapted from Baking and Boys

¾ cup cocoa powder (recommended: Hershey’s Special Dark)

¾ cup (1 ½ sticks) unsalted butter

3 large eggs, room temperature

1 ½ cups granulated sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

½ teaspoon almond extract

½ teaspoon salt

3/8 cup coconut flour (could also use the same amount of all purpose flour)

2 cups shredded, sweetened coconut

2/3 cup sweetened condensed milk

Pinch salt

2/3 cup toasted, chopped almonds

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Line an 8×8-inch square baking pan with foil, and spray foil lightly with baking spray.

Melt butter in medium saucepan over medium heat.  Remove from heat, and whisk together well.  Let stand 3 minutes.  Whisk in eggs one at a time, then add sugar and vanilla and almond extracts. Fold in salt and flour and stir until ingredients disappear into batter.  Spread half the batter evenly in pan.

Combine coconut, salt, and sweetened condensed milk in a bowl. Spread dollops of coconut mixture over the brownie batter.  Sprinkle chopped almonds over coconut mixture.  Spread remaining brownie batter over coconut mixture.  Smooth carefully with a knife.  Bake 20-25 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out with a few moist crumbs attached.  Let cool on a cooling rack, then chill in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours.  Cut into squares.

9 Responses

  1. OMG, these look delicious!!!

  2. These look unbelievable! Definitely saving this recipe.

  3. Oh, yay, I’m glad you made and liked the brownies! And though I’ve been able to have just the right amount of brownie batter on the top, I think that’s a great idea to 1 1/2 times the recipe for these, because it was always close. You know, I still have some sweetened condensed milk in the fridge, because of that open can from the last ones. Hmmm? I thinking Almond Joy Brownies are in the works! And now that I’m in an ice cream mood, I’ll have to try that, too!

  4. These were absolutely delicious! I have never had anything so rich and chocolaty, Yum!!!! I’m still deciding on if I will share these with anybody in my house. Only my 3 year old saw me make them and she won’t tell that I’ve hidden them in the fridge in the crisper. :-)

  5. [...] Almond Joy Brownie Bars!I was a little surprised at how fudgy they turned out- given the choice, I prefer a brownie that is the perfect balance between fudgy and cake- a perfectly chewy brownie. In that regard, I was nervously watching these babies cook up. I prefer cupcakes and cookies because of this, too- soooo much easier to tell when they’re “done”.However, the coconut/sweetened condensed milk combination absolutely MADE the brownie. I licked that particular bowl clean, too. Not kidding. My stomach hurt afterwards. [...]

  6. When does the cocoa powder go in? Did I miss that?

  7. almonds add good taste to the desert i like it too much

  8. I will definitely be making a brownie sundae out of these! Great job!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

