• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

German Chocolate Ice Cream

For Mother’s Day almost a year ago, my sister and I got our mom an ice cream maker along with The Ultimate Ice Cream Book. My mom was pretty excited and couldn’t wait to start making homemade ice cream.  A few weeks later, I asked her how the recipes were and she told me about this German Chocolate Ice Cream.  I think I’ve mentioned on this blog before that my family can’t get enough of anything German chocolate, whether it be in the form of a pie or a traditional cake.  But ice cream?  This I had to try!  I finally got a chance to make it recently, and it was every bit as good as I hoped.  It was very rich and chocolaty, and the caramel was a great addition that provided similar flavors of German chocolate cake.  I was surprised that it called for whole eggs instead of just the yolks, but it worked just fine.  I made my own caramel using my favorite recipe from Dorie Greenspan.  I did use more than the recipe called for because I think there is no such thing as too much caramel :)  I loved the coconut in this, and I think next time I’ll add some toasted pecans.  This is definitely on the top of my favorite ice creams list!

German Chocolate Ice Cream
Source: The Ultimate Ice Cream Book by Bruce Weinstein

1 cup sugar

3 large eggs

1 cup cocoa powder

1 ½ cups milk

1 cup heavy cream

1 tablespoon vanilla

½ cup shredded coconut (sweetened or unsweetened)

½ cup caramel, store-bought or homemade

Place eggs, sugar, and cocoa in food processor.  Blend until smooth.

Bring milk to a boil in a heavy saucepan.  With food processor running, slowly pour hot milk into the chocolate mixture through the feed tube.  Process until well blended.  Pour entire mixture back into pan and place over low heat.  Stir constantly with a whisk or wooden spoon until custard thickens slightly.  Be careful not to let mixture boil, or eggs will scramble.  Remove from heat and pour the hot chocolate custard through a strainer into a large clean bowl.  Allow to cool slightly, then stir in cream and vanilla.  Cover and refrigerate until cold (up to overnight).  Stir and then add ½ cup coconut to the machine.  Allow the machine to mix in the coconut.  Swirl ½ cup caramel sauce into finished ice cream.  Take care not to overmix or the caramel will melt into the ice cream (if using homemade caramel, make sure the caramel is completely cool before adding to the ice cream).  Streaks of caramel should be visible.

Homemade Caramel
Source: Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan

2 cups sugar
½ cup water
1 ½ tablespoons light corn syrup
2/3 cup heavy cream
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature

Put the sugar, water and corn syrup in a medium heavy bottomed saucepan, stir just to combine the ingredients and then put the pan over medium-high heat. Heat, without stirring , until the caramel turns deep amber., 5-10 minutes. Lower the heat a bit and, standing back from the saucepan add the cream and butter. When the spatters are less vehement, stir to calm down the caramel and dissolve any lumps.  Stir in pecans, cool for 3 to 5 minutes, and pour over cheesecake.

15 Responses

  1. Oh this looks fantastic!! I have lots of leftover coconut from January’s Daring Baker’s Challenge, and I’ve been looking for a recipe that will allow me to make use of it. I’ll be trying this out soon.

  2. My husband would love this icecream. It looks and sounds wonderful!

  3. My husband would absolutely love this, his favorite is German Chocolate and I rarely make it because the coconut frosting wigs me out. Would love to see how it all tastes frozen though!

  4. I have been looking for a German Chocolate ice cream recipe for ages now and this is the first one I’ve seen! It’s my favorite ice cream flavor!

  5. Oh my goodness, that sounds fabulous!!

  6. You make the greatest flavors of ice cream! The caramel sauce sounds fabulous with this!

  7. I love german chocolate cake, so I bet I would love this. As soon as we move and I freeze my bowl I will be trying this.

  8. this looks so good…can’t wait to try it!

  9. I am so glad that you like my recipe for this ice cream. And that your mom has been enjoying the book. As for eggs vs egg yolks, I thought that whole eggs gave most of the recipes i created a smoother taste. Egg yolks alone make it a bit more like gelato than ice cream to my taste. And it also looks fantastic in your picture, good job!

  10. [...] German Chocolate Cake German Chocolate Pie German Chocolate Ice Cream [...]

  11. [...] me so long!  This is one of my favorite ice creams.  It actually reminded me very much of the German Chocolate Ice Cream I made a few months ago.  It was a standard custard recipe, made very rich by the coconut milk and [...]

  12. [...] Chocolate Filled Cupcakes from Back to Her Roots German Chocolate Ice Cream from Dinner and Dessert German Chocolate Cookie Bites from easybaked German Chocolate Brownie Bars [...]

  13. […] me so long!  This is one of my favorite ice creams.  It actually reminded me very much of the German Chocolate Ice Cream I made a few months ago.  It was a standard custard recipe, made very rich by the coconut milk […]

  14. […] me so long!  This is one of my favorite ice creams.  It actually reminded me very much of the German Chocolate Ice Cream I made a few months ago.  It was a standard custard recipe, made very rich by the coconut milk […]

  15. […] me so long!  This is one of my favorite ice creams.  It actually reminded me very much of the German Chocolate Ice Cream I made a few months ago.  It was a standard custard recipe, made very rich by the coconut milk […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

