• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Pumpkin Caramel Cheesecake Turtle Bread

We recently had some overnight guests, and I wanted to make something special to have for breakfast in the morning and to snack on.  I’ve been wanting to make pumpkin bread this fall, and when I saw this version, I knew it would be spectacular.  There were so many wonderful flavors going on that made this so much better than your average pumpkin bread.  When I first saw the recipe, I thought it would be time-consuming but it was actually quite simple and didn’t take as much time as I thought it would.  The base of the recipe is a regular pumpkin bread, and then you marble the cream cheese mixture in it.  The original recipe yields 3 mini loaves, and I didn’t realize that it would be the equivalent of two standard loaves.  As I was pouring the mixture in the pan, I realized that I needed to divide it into two loaf pans instead of just one, so I messed up on the marbling as a result.  So mine doesn’t look marbled, but the cream cheese is in there.  If I had realized how much batter this would make, I probably would have halved the recipe, but I just froze the other loaf, so it worked out fine.

After letting the cake cool, you pour chocolate glaze and caramel sauce over it, then sprinkle the pecans on the top.  Normally I would make homemade caramel sauce, but I opted for store bought because I was short on time.  Homemade would have been better, but this was still quite good.  This bread is very moist due to the cream cheese and made extra special with the chocolate and caramel.  I added some cinnamon to the bread because I can’t imagine pumpkin without cinnamon!  It was the perfect bread to serve to guests, and I enjoyed eating the leftovers :)

Pumpkin Caramel Cheesecake Turtle Bread
Source: Culinary Concoctions by Peabody

Pumpkin Bread:

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon
pinch of salt
1 cup pumpkin puree (plain, not the already made pumpkin pie kind)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
½ cup canola oil
2 large eggs
¾ cup granulated sugar
¾ cup light brown sugar, loosely packed

Caramel Cheesecake Filling:
8 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
¼ cup brown sugar, tightly packed
2 tablespons Lyle’s Golden Syrup
2 tablespoons Caramel Sauce (store bought or homemade)
1 large egg

Topping:
Chocolate Glaze (recipe follows)
Caramel Sauce (store bought or homemade) (my favorite homemade version can be found in this post)
1 cup pecans, roughly chopped

Preheat oven to 325F.

Lightly grease and flour three mini loaf pans (3 ½ -x- 5 inch) or two standard loaf pans.

Using a stand mixer (or a medium bowl and electric beaters) with the paddle attachment, beat together the cream cheese, sugar, syrup and caramel sauce for about 3 minutes. Scrape down the sides of the bowl.

Add egg and beat for another minute. Scrape down the sides and bottom of bowl and add flour. Beat flour into mixture until fully incorporated. If using stand mixer, transfer cheesecake filling to a separate bowl. Set aside. If using the stand mixer, clean and dry the bowl to use again.

In another bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt; set aside.

Using a stand mixer (or a medium bowl and electric beaters) with the paddle attachment, place pumpkin puree, vegetable oil, eggs, vanilla, and sugars into the bowl and beat for about 1 minute.
Add flour mixture into the pumpkin mixture and mix just until combined. This is a quick bread so you don’t want to over mix.

Pour half of the pumpkin bread batter evenly into the three prepared loaf pans.  Spread the batter out evenly.

Spoon cheesecake mixture on top of pumpkin batter layer, a little less than 2/3 of a cup.

Scoop the remaining batter on top of the cheesecake layer, again about 2 ice cream scoops worth.

If you don’t want to bother with the layering you can just spoon some pumpkin batter, then cheesecake, then pumpkin batter again and use a knife to make swirls in the bread.

Bake for 50 to 60 minutes, or until a wooden skewer inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean.
Cool bread in pans for 10 minutes.
Remove bread from pans and place on a wire rack to cool completely.
Let breads cool completely before glazing.

Pour chocolate glaze over breads, about 1/3 cup each. Sprinkle pecans on top of the glaze, followed by extra caramel sauce if desired.


5 Responses

  1. Your did a great job with this bread! Thanks for sharing :)

  2. That sounds like a delicious holiday treat! So unique too. Looks wonderful!

  3. Holy moly, this looks FANTASTIC! I love, love, love pumpkin bread by itself, but add chocolate and caramel too it?! Oh my goodness. I cannot wait to make this bread…hopefully, I can restrain myself from eating all of it. :)

  4. What a great combination – although I’d settle for the pumpkin bread all by itself.

  5. That looks insanely delicious!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

