• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Nutella Fudge

DSC_2450

I am a huge fan of fudge.  Ever since I was little, I looked forward to eating fudge once the weather got cooler.  I always made the standard chocolate fudge, but over the past couple of years, I have enjoyed making new variations.  I’ve been on a Nutella kick lately and I thought it would be a good idea to try Nutella fudge.  I used a basic fudge recipe from the Nestle website and added some Nutella to it.  This sounds simple enough, but I had to make sure the Nutella flavor would come through enough.  I added a whole cup, which turned out to be the perfect amount.  The Nutella flavor came out just as I had hoped and the flavors complemented one another nicely.  The recipe said to boil the candy for 4 to 5 minutes, but that is too vague for me.  I recommend using a candy thermometer to watch the temperature get to 235 degrees (the soft ball stage).  This makes the whole experience less stressful and takes the guesswork out of it all.  This was the perfect Nutella treat- it’s great on its own or as an addition to Nutella Ice Cream.

Nutella Fudge
Source: adapted from Very Best Baking

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup (5 fl.-oz. can) evaporated milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups miniature marshmallows
  • 1 1/2 cups (9 oz.) semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup Nutella

Directions:

LINE 8-inch-square baking pan with foil.

COMBINE sugar, evaporated milk, butter and salt in medium, heavy-duty saucepan. Bring to a full rolling boil over medium heat, stirring constantly. Boil, stirring constantly, for 4 to 5 minutes. Remove from heat.

STIR in marshmallows, morsels, nuts, Nutella, and vanilla extract. Stir vigorously for 1 minute or until marshmallows are melted. Pour into prepared baking pan; refrigerate for 2 hours or until firm. Lift from pan; remove foil. Cut into 36-48 pieces.

15 Responses

  1. Oh my, I’m going to have to make this very very soon!!

  2. I’m bookmarking this for holiday gifts!!

  3. Oh my goodness Erin! This looks insane!

    I too love fudge, but my attempts at homemade are less than newsworthy. I’m determined to make it from scratch – after I try this version.

  4. I have to try this! my hubby loves fudge

  5. Sounds AMAZING!

  6. this is coming to thanksgiving, right? :)

  7. What an awesome idea! It sound amazing! We always have Nutella around :)

  8. Nutella lovers here! The fudge sounds awesome. A few hazelnuts sprinkles on top. Mmm. (I like fudge with a little crunch for some reason. Great idea, Erin.

  9. I love fudge, and nothing beats Nutella! We will definitely be trying this soon! :)

  10. Nutella + Fudge = just what I was looking for! Can’t wait to try. (PS- I just finished posting a blog on my love for nutella and my desire to make it into fudge just before I found your post.)
    Thanks so much.

  11. Oh my gosh, I LOVE nutella. I can only imagine how awesome this fudge must be!

  12. I had been dreaming about this fudge from the moment I heard about it. We just tried to make it and it’s the farthest thing from fudge I could get. It turned into dry crumbles of chocolate. I’ve never had fudge do that before. Is it maybe because we doubled the recipe? Any thoughts?

    Thanks!

  13. Okay, never mind. My brand new Wilton candy thermometer is off by at least 11 degrees. I must have way overcooked this batch. :D Shoulda checked it before hand.

  14. two of my faves in the name – nutella (which I can eat with a spoon) and fudge (any flavor really). it has got to be delicious.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

