• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Dirt Cupcakes

DSC_2444

I wanted to make one of my classes a treat for being so well-behaved.  In South Carolina, second year teachers have to go through an evaluation process to get our professional teaching license.  That means several unannounced observations throughout the year.  I had my first one recently, and my kids were so well behaved that I wanted to reward them with a treat.  (Luckily they are also well behaved all the time anyway!).  Since it was so close to Halloween, I wanted to make something appropriate for the occasion and something they would love (this is 7th grade).  I decided on dirt cupcakes.  It just came to me to make these, but since I’ve seen them before I can’t exactly take the credit- I think they’re a pretty commonly made kid treat.  They are very simple to make, and kids (and probably adults too!) will just love them!  My kids told me that I am their favorite teacher :)

Dirt Cupcakes

1 recipe chocolate cupcakes (I recommend these from Cook’s Illustrated or the Hershey’s one)
chocolate frosting
finely ground Oreo crumbs
gummy worms

Bake cupcakes as directed and cool.  Frost lightly with chocolate frosting.  Dip in Oreo crumbs, and then stick the gummy worm in the center of the cupcake.  Enjoy!

8 Responses

  1. You’re a super generous teacher!! So glad that the kids behaved :)

  2. Wow, that’s so nice of you! I bet all your kids went around talking about how awesome you are to all their friends who don’t have you as a teacher. :) These are so cute. I want to bake something to bring to work for Halloween but I don’t have much time this week. These would be perfect!

  3. What a great teacher you are! I’ll bet the kids really loved these – they look perfect.

  4. Im getting ready to make Dirt Cake for my 12 year old sons birthday. The cupcakes look great and Im sure the middle school kids loved them.What a nice teacher to be you are!

  5. How cute! I remember these from when I was in elementary school. I wouldn’t eat them because I was afraid of worms and they grossed me out! Ha!

  6. I’m so jealous you get to bring in homemade treats for your kids and even more jealous that your class is well-behaved!

  7. I love these! I bookmarked them and can’t wait to make them!

  8. coach バッグ アウトレット

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

