• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Mango Sorbet

DSC_1818

I love mangoes, and I couldn’t wait to make mango sorbet this summer.  I was at The Fresh Market recently and saw some of the biggest, most beautiful mangoes for only 99 cents each, so I took that as a sign that I needed to make this sorbet right away!  I think sorbet is my favorite way to enjoy a mango.  It is just sweet enough, and really brings out the flavor of the mango.  I have said before that I am not a huge fan of most fruit desserts, but sorbets are a big exception.  It is hard not to like the taste of a good fruit sorbet in the hot summer weather.  I often reach for a big spoonful after a long run- it’s the perfect way to cool off!  So far, I have not been able to choose a favorite, but this one is definitely a contener!

Mango Sorbet
Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

2 large, ripe mangoes (2 pounds)

2/3 cup sugar

2/3 cup water

4 teaspoons freshly squeezed lime juice, plus more to taste

1 tablespoon dark rum, plus more to taste

Pinch of salt

Peel the mangoes and cut the flesh away from the pit.  Cut the flesh into chunks and put them in a blender with the sugar, water, lime juice, rum, and salt.  Squeeze the mango pits hard over the blender to extract as much of the pulp and juice as possible.  Puree the mixture until smooth.  Taste, then add more lime juice or rum if desired.  Chill the mixture thoroughly, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

8 Responses

  1. This looks sooooo good! Mango with lime juice sounds like it would taste great.

  2. I love mangos. The best was eating SUPER FRESH mangos when I was visiting my sister in Haiti! And I would think after a long run, you definitely deserve a big spoonful of mango sorbet!

  3. MMmmmmmm! That looks delicious! I love mangos!

  4. looks fabulous! mango sorbet is definitely my fave sorbet!

  5. Yum! I recently made apricot sorbet and it was/is SO good! Love those summer fruits!

  6. Oh wow, that looks so refreshing and delicious. I’ve never tried making sorbet before, but this one makes me want to give it a go!

  7. What a refreshing way to use the mango!!! I love the little rum kick! :)

  8. You know, I love mangoes – too bad I ate all of mine before I had a chance to try this! It’s on my list to try before summer ends.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

