• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Cupcakes

DSC_1733

I go running every morning, and often I think of things I want to bake while I’m running (what a great way to stay motivated!).  During a recent run, I thought about raspberry buttercream and how it would be perfect with chocolate cupcakes.  When I got home, I did some searching on the internet, and remembered that Peabody made these yummy cupcakes last summer.  I decided that these were just what I was looking for.

I made these for David’s office.  He works for a small company, and I dropped by one day during lunch to meet everyone (I am a teacher, so I have the summer off to do things like this!).  They loved these cupcakes.  These cupcakes were delicious.  With so much Dutch-process cocoa, they were very rich and chocolaty, and they were nice and moist.  The raspberry buttercream was incredible!  It was perfectly sweet with a nice raspberry flavor- prominent, but not too strong.  The raspberries on top were a great additional touch.  I used a pastry bag to pipe the ganache into them.  It was tedious, but a great detail that didn’t go unnoticed.  I had some ganache left over, but it will be great for drizzling over ice cream or brownies.  I also had some buttercream left over, so I think that next time I would pipe some into the cupcakes for some extra raspberry flavor.  They made a great first impression on David’s office and definitely lived up to my expectations!

DSC_1726

Devil’s Food Cupcakes with Raspberry Jam Buttercream and Raspberry Truffle
Source: Culinary Concoctions by Peabody

Devil’s Food Cake
Raspberry Jam Buttercream
Raspberry Truffles

Deeply Dark Devil’s Food Cake

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
11 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
2/3 cup Dutch-processed cocoa powder
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/3 cups warm water

Preheat oven to 325F. Grease and flour mini cupcake pans.
Sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl. Mix to incorporate.
Beat the butter at medium speed until creamy. Gradually add the sugar and beat on high speed for about 3 minutes. Add the cocoa powder and beat for 1 minute. Scrape down the sides with a spatula. Beat in the eggs one at a time. Beat in the vanilla. On low speed, add the flour mixture in three additions alternating with the warm water in two additions. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and mix at low speed for 30 seconds. Pour batter into prepared pans.
Bake cupcakes for 13-15 minutes.
Let cool for 5 minutes in pan and remove cupcakes from pan. Let cool on wire rack. When cool, frost with Raspberry Jam Buttercream.

Raspberry Jam Buttercream
1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
6-8 cups powdered sugar
½ cup seedless raspberry jam

Place butter and jam in a mixing bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Cream butter and jam until well incorporated, about 2 minutes. Add powdered sugar, one cup at a time until you reach desired consistency. If frosting gets too thick you can add a little milk to thin it out.

Raspberry Truffles

2 pints fresh raspberries, cleaned and dried
5 ounces semisweet chocolate
1/3 cup heavy cream
¼ cup seedless raspberry jam

Place chocolate and raspberry jam in a heat proof bowl.
Bring cream to a boil.
Pour cream over chocolate and jam and let sit for about 3 minutes.
Whisk together chocolate mixture. If it is still a little lumpy, put in microwave for a few seconds and whisk again.
Put ganache into a piping bag fitted or even an plastic bag(with a tiny hole cut out). Pipe chocolate ganache into fresh raspberries.
Let sit in fridge for about 15 minutes. Top frosted cupcakes with raspberry truffle. Eat any extras…they are good.

17 Responses

  1. Ah…my favorite flavor combination! I’m also glad you reminded me of those raspberry truffles. They are such a great idea, and I think they would be great on their own too.

  2. LOVE Peabody’s recipes!

  3. AHH! So decadent and delicious but in a little cupcake! These look amazing!!

  4. These look delicious! LOVE the ganache piped raspberries!

  5. Yay for cupcakes! ;)

    Choco and raspberry? Say no more, sign me up!

    Yours look awesome!

  6. I am glad I am not the only one thinking about cupcakes on my run…great post…I will have to try these myself.

  7. I LOVE chocolate and raspberries together. These look gorgeous!

  8. Im sure you made fast friends at your husbands work! They look so good! I run all most every morning(until I pulled my calf muscle in a race) I to think about food and baking! It does keep one motivated to exercise!

  9. Lucky coworkers! They look delicious.

  10. These are beautiful! And delicious, I am sure.

  11. So pretty and such a great flavor combo!

  12. Ah, chocolate and raspberry – one of life’s perfect flavor combinations! Beautiful!

  13. Mmm, I remember those, they were good. I am glad you liked them as well!

  14. Erin, I am organizing a Martha Stewart Cupcake baking blogger group . . I was hoping you’d be interested.

    Please visit my blog for further details! Join! ;)

  15. Hello!

    I was wondering how you liked this raspberry buttercream recipe compared to the one you used for the Lemon Cake with Raspberry Buttercream from the Sweet Melissa Baking Book. I love raspberry buttercream and I am in search of the BEST recipe:)

  16. It’s hard to say! The recipe from the Sweet Melissa Baking Book had actual raspberries in it and was made from egg whites, so I think it had a stronger raspberry taste (it’s been a while, though, so I can’t remember exactly). This one has powdered sugar, so it’s sweeter. They are both incredible, though, so I don’t think you could go wrong either way. I should make them both again and do an official side by side taste test :) Erin

  17. [...] Food Cupcakes with Raspberry Jam Buttercream Seen on Dinner & Dessert, who got it from Culinary Concoctions by [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

