• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Strawberry Sorbet

DSC_1067

I love when strawberries first start to appear at the grocery stores.  This year I was looking forward to making strawberry sorbet.  I snached up some strawberries as soon as I could and made this.  It was incredibly easy to make, and the flavor was great.  It was perfectly sweet, and the strawberry flavor came out just as I hoped it would.  Sorbets are the perfect warm-weather treat.  They taste light and will satisfy your sweet tooth- they are the perfect end to a meal.  I didn’t strain the seeds because, honestly, I was lazy and wanted the sorbet sooner.  It didn’t make a difference to me, so this step is definitely up to personal preference.  This recipe doesn’t make much, so if you want more or are making this for a group of people, you might want to double it.  I can’t wait for more fresh fruits to come out so I can make even more sorbets!

Strawberry Sorbet

1 pound fresh strawberries, rinsed and hulled

¾ cup sugar

1 teaspoon kirch (optional)

1 teaspoon freshly squeezed lemon juice

Pinch of salt

Slice the strawberries and toss them in a medium bowl with the sugar and kirch, if using, stirring until the sugar begins to dissolve.  Cover and let stand for 1 hour, stirring every so often.

Puree the strawberries and their liquid with the lemon juice and salt in a blender or food processor until smooth.  Press the mixture through a strainer to remove the seeds if you wish.

Chill the mixture thoroughly, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

15 Responses

  1. I love the color – it’s beautiful! I really want to try making sorbet this summer!

  2. I love the fresh fruit taste of sorbets. I’ll have to make strawberry soon!

  3. This looks perfect for the warm weather in the Northeast right now!

  4. i love everything strawberry this time of year. i just posted a quick shortcake with them on my blog. looks fresh and yummy!

  5. yum, this looks delicious. the color is fantastic!

  6. I just made chocolate sorbet for the first time. As soon as the fruit gets good here, I’m trying this for sure!

  7. YUM! I’ve been on a sorbet kick here in CA as it is warm and sunny :) Looks great!

  8. Oh wow! such vibrant colour! I love the picture, I feel like digging right in!
    Lovely sorbet recipe, the lemon juice must make this sing!
    Thanks!

  9. Mmm I really want that book! This looks perfect for summer!

  10. Mmm, this sorbet looks amazing. I love fresh strawberries, and I love using them in treats like this! Man oh man, this is the perfect treat for a sunny spring afternoon…much like the one I’m experiencing now…hmmm, maybe I need to make this ASAP.

  11. Love sorbet! The color is so bright! I am posting rhubarb sorbet tomorrow:)

  12. What a lovely refreshing sorbet! And so perfect for summer!

  13. I just got an ice cream maker and can’t wait to start making all kinds of ice cream, sherert and sorbets! This looks so good!! The color is amazing, I bet it was wonderful!

  14. Mmm lovely vivid colour! I know my boyfriend would love this.

  15. [...] Strawberry sorbet From  The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz via Erin at Dinner & Dessert [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

