• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chocolate Cream Tart (TWD)

dsc_1066

We rounded out our month of decadent desserts with this Chocolate Cream Tart.  I love anything chocolate, so I knew I would love this.  I have gotten to be quite a fan of pastry cream since I have made it so often as a part of the TWD group, but I had never tried chocolate pastry cream.  To me, it was the best part of the dessert.  I loved the smooth, silky texture of the cream, and it had a rich chocolate taste.  I made the crust from a mix of tapioca and rice flour, and I was not crazy about it.  It just tasted funky, and I am not a fan.  I know that it would have taste just fine if it was made from normal flour.  The chocolate pastry cream more than made up for it, and I ended up scraping off the extra pastry cream from the tart and just eating that :)  The whipped cream was the perfect topping for this delicious dessert!  You can visit Kim’s blog for the recipe, and visit the TWD blog to see the other chocolate cream tarts!

15 Responses

  1. Mmm. It looks great. I wound up eating spoonfuls of the pastry filling anyway. It was just that good!

  2. That looks great. Like Kara I was eating the filling and had to tie my hands down so I would have enough to fill the little minis. Yours looks yummy!

  3. I’ve never tried chocolate pastry cream either! All these chocolate cream tarts on my Google reader look delicious! :D

  4. I like the look of the sprinkled cocoa on the top of yours…it looks so delicate and nice. Very pretty.

  5. Great looking tart. I thought this recipe was the bomb. Im glad you liked it too!

  6. i adore chocolate pastry cream too :)

  7. Yum, your tart looks great! I think this has the potential to be an awesome recipe. I didn’t love the pastry cream with bittersweet chocolate but I think I’d love it with milk chocolate.

  8. I agree that the chocolate cream was really great! I hadn’t had the best of luck with the other custards we had made, so I was pleasantly surprised! Your tart looks very good.

  9. Tart looks delicious! That chocolate pastry cream sounds soooo good. Good for you for trying rice and tapioca flours in the crust; sorry it didn’t turn out so well, but hey points for experimentation!!

  10. Beautiful! I loved this tart, it was fabulous!

  11. Looks delicious and perfect!

  12. I totally would have scraped out the filling and left the crust – because for me the filling was the best part!

  13. That’s an interesting twist to the tart shell, but sorry that you didn’t like it. It’s great that you still enjoyed the chocolate cream though!

  14. Lovely tart!!

    Please let me know what your email address is, on my blog, if you get a chance.

  15. It looks so good to me! Yum.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

