• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Triple Threat Chocolate Cookies

dsc_0076

As I was going through The Pastry Queen cookbook, I knew that I wanted to make these cookies right away.  I decided to make these on a night when I needed to make a dessert, but didn’t have time to go through a bunch of fussy steps.  These cookies looked easy enough, so I decided to make them.  I thought it was interesting that they contained so little flour and not a huge amount of butter, so I was curious to find out what the texture would be like.  These were so nice and chocolaty (I tasted the batter before adding the flour) , since the small amount of flour allowed the chocolate to come out.  I also liked the way these contained melted chocolate and not cocoa powder.  I think it creates a richer, more genuine chocolate flavor.  These cookies have almost a flourless chocolate cake or a brownie texture to them.  If you are looking for a rich, dense, chocolaty cookie, this is it!

dsc_0080

Triple Threat Chocolate Cookies
Source: The Pastry Queen by Rebecca Rather

1 cup chopped pecans
1 cup chopped walnuts
6 tablespoons unsalted butter
8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped
3 large eggs
1 cup sugar
1 tablespoons vanilla extract
1/3 cup all purpose flour
¼ tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
1 ½ cups semisweet or milk chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350F. Arrange the pecans and walnuts on a baking sheet in a single layer and toast for 7 to 9 minutes until golden brown. Cool the nuts completely.
Grease baking pan generously with butter or cooking spray.
Melt the butter, bittersweet chocolate, and unsweetened chocolate in a small saucepan set over low heat. Stir occasionally, watching carefully to make sure the chocolate does not burn. Remove the pan from the heat to cool.
Using a mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the eggs and sugar in a large bowl on medium speed for about 3 minutes, until fluffy. Add the vanilla and melted chocolate. Beat on medium speed about 2 minutes, until the dough is thick and glossy. Add the flour, baking powder, and salt to the chocolate mixture, stirring just until incorporated. Stir in the nuts and chocolate chips. Let the dough rest for 20 minutes, which makes it easier to scoop.
Use a 1 ¾ inch diameter scoop to drop spoonfuls of dough on the prepared baking sheets, spacing them at least 1 ½ inches apart. Wet your fingertips lightly with water and gently flatten the cookie dough(no need to press hard, just press out the hump) Bake for 10-12 minutes, until the tops begin to crack and look glossy. Cool the cookies for 10 minutes before removing them from the baking sheets.


16 Responses

  1. Bring on the threat! I can take it! These look amazing. So delicious. The less flour, the better, as far as I’m concerned!! I can’t wait to try them!

  2. Ooo yum, these look great!

  3. These look great!

  4. I totally agree about the chocolate vs. cocoa thing. These look great – I love the three types of chocolate.

  5. Looks great, I’ll need a large glass of milk with those cookies please!!!! Yum!

  6. Oh my goodness, these look GREAT!

  7. Sounds like this might be just the chocolate cookie to bring me over to the cookie side of things.
    ~ingrid

  8. Those look great

  9. MMMM these look a lot like the chewy chocolate cookies from Great American Cookie Co… my favorite!

  10. Those cookies look perfect! I love the crackly top. I agree that melted chocolate adds a much better chocolate flavour to cookie dough than cocoa powder.

  11. I would love one of those right about now with my coffee -

  12. I love the fact these cookies have walnuts AND pecans! I’ve never thought to use both before in a rich chocloate cookie, but it sounds really good.

  13. Those look INCREDIBLE! I need to make these!

  14. Mmmm… I’ve been wanting to make some cookies. These look awesome. How can you go wrong with all that chocolate. =)

  15. I just made these–incredible! They are very dark chocolatey. I used 70% bittersweet chips from Whole Foods. What % bittersweet did you use? I might just use semisweet for that part next time. These are dangerous!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

