• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Fresh Ginger and Chocolate Gingerbread

dsc_0151

I didn’t have time to make this the week it was chosen for Tuesdays with Dorie, but after seeing everyone’s posts, I knew I had to find the time.  After making the Chocolate Gingerbread Cake and the Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies, I have found that I really like the chocolate-gingerbread combination.  Dorie says that you must have a true 9×9-inch pan to make this, otherwise it won’t come out right.  I measured my pan, and luckily it was the correct size, so I was good to go.  This was very easy to make and I was able to put it together one night when I didn’t have a lot of time to devote to a fussy dessert.  The strong ginger smell coming from the oven while it was baking filled the house.

dsc_0153

The cake unmolded just like it was supposed to.  I waited until the next day to make the frosting.  One thing I did differently with the frosting was just melt the chocolate in the microwave.  I try not to do this, but it was such as small amount and it cut way back on time.  The frosting came together wonderfully, and it tasted so good!  I loved the addition of the coffee.  Coffee does a great job at bringing out flavor.  I found it humorous that Dorie suggested cutting this cake into 9 pieces!  That would be one huge serving!  I cut it into 16 pieces, but I’d probably do 20 next time, becuase the servings were still quite generous.  This gingerbread was a hit with everyone, and I’m glad I decided to take the time to make it.  You can find the recipe on Heather’s blog, since she was the one who chose it.

dsc_0155

dsc_0158

13 Responses

  1. This looks amazing. I love anything with ginger in it!

  2. I just realized my love for gingerbread this past Christmas when I made homemade gingerbread men. I’ve never tried chocolate and gingerbread together! YUM!

  3. gorgeous photos!

  4. This looks great! I’ve never tried the chocolate/gingerbread combo, but oh it sounds SO good.

  5. This cake looks wonderful and what an interesting combo…!

  6. Great pictures! This was a great cake recipe and yours came out perfect!

  7. Wow, yours looks great! Mine was a mess. Your squares are so tall and proud.

  8. This chocolate gingerbread looks like a real winner. What an awesome flavor combination–spicy and chocolatey…sounds delicious!

  9. This was a great recipe, glad you had the time to try it. I can’t wait to make it again for the holidays!

  10. This looks SO good! i just recently starting using a lot of ginger so I need to try this!

  11. Your gingerbread looks great! I’m glad it was a hit. I really loved it.

  12. Chocolate and gingerbread, sounds good to me!!

  13. [...] tasty.  I’ve found taht I like these types of spices paired with chocolate, such as with the Fresh Ginger and Chocolate Gingerbread and the Chocolate Gingerbread Cake.  It’s not a common pairing, but it’s one that [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

