• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Oreo Cheesecake

img_2027

I made this cheesecake a long while ago for that church dinner where I was in charge of all the desserts, but got so busy with other more seasonal posts that I wanted to get in that I never posted it.  This was a great choice for a dessert to serve a crowd.  Cheesecake generally pleases everyone, and who doesn’t love Oreos?  This cheesecake was even better because it was baked in a 9×13-inch pan, so it was easy to make and I got quite a bit of servings out of it.

The recipe was quite simple.  I think that the crust could have been thicker, so next time I would double the crust, or at least make 1 1/2 of the recipe.  I thought that the Oreo-to-cheesecake ratio was perfect.  The cheesecake baked up in just the amount of time the recipe called for.  I am not a big fan of cheesecake on most occasions because I don’t like the overpowering cream cheese flavor it typically has, but the Oreos were great in balancing the cream cheese.  This cheesecake got a great reaction from everyone, so I was happy I made it!

Philly Oreo Cheesecake

1 pkg. (1 lb. 2 oz.) OREO Cookies, divided

1/4 cup  (1/2 stick) butter or margarine, melted

4 pkg. (8 oz. each) PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese, softened

1 cup  sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1 cup  BREAKSTONE’S or KNUDSEN Sour Cream

4 eggs

PREHEAT oven to 325°F. Line 13×9-inch baking pan with foil, with ends of foil extending over sides of pan. Place 30 of the cookies in food processor; cover. Process 30 to 45 sec. or until finely ground. Add butter; mix well. Press firmly onto bottom of prepared pan.

BEAT cream cheese, sugar and vanilla in large bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until well blended. Add sour cream; mix well. Add eggs, one at a time, beating just until blended after each addition. Chop remaining cookies. Gently stir 1-1/2 cups of the chopped cookies into cream cheese batter. Pour over crust; sprinkle with the remaining chopped cookies.

BAKE 45 min. or until center is almost set. Cool. Refrigerate 4 hours or overnight. Lift cheesecake from pan, using foil handles. Cut into 16 pieces to serve. Store leftover cheesecake in refrigerator.


Source: Kraft Foods

9 Responses

  1. I LOVE OREOS! Your yummy pic has me wanting oreo cheesecake for breakfast!

  2. Yumolicious! Oreo cheesecake sounds just wonderful right about now, I have my coffee in hand and I’m ready!

  3. This looks AMAZING! I can’t wait to make it.

  4. I might make this for the big game on Sunday! It looks great!

  5. Id have to agree.. this would be great for Sundays big game!!

  6. I love it when I have photos of something saved and haven’t posted yet. It’s like having a surprise! My son would love these. I’m trying to think of different sweet ideas for his lunch, but who knows what they’d look like once he got them to school!

  7. YUM! I recently made a similar cheesecake and it was delish!

    http://www.bakingmakesthingsbetter.com/2011/06/oreo-cheesecake.html

  8. [...] while I was growing up, and they are still used in countless desserts. My personal favorite is Oreo cheesecake (not to slight my Oreo cupcakes). Oreo cheesecake was in the dessert cycle in our cafeteria on [...]

  9. […] while I was growing up, and they are still used in countless desserts. My personal favorite is Oreo cheesecake (not to slight my Oreo cupcakes). Oreo cheesecake was in the dessert cycle in our cafeteria on […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

