• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Deep Dark Chocolate Cookies

dsc_00681

I had a craving for chocolate cookies, and luckily I remembered seeing these in Bridget’s blog over the summer.  These looked so good, and they were even flourless, which was a bonus.  I thought the ingredients list looked interesting- egg whites, no butter, but a lot of chocolate.  The egg white mixture got to a nice fluffy, marshmallowy consistency, but after everything else was added, it didn’t get as thick as the recipe said.  Bridget said she had this problem too, so I didn’t worry about it too much.  The batter tasted so rich and smooth, and I was very hopeful that they would come out well.

I was pleased with how these turned out.  Since there was no flour, they were a bit delicate, but they were very good.  Chocolate was definitely the star of this recipe.  I thought they were very rich and sweet, and just the way I like them.  I also love the look (and taste) of cookies rolled in powdered sugar.  I think they would also be great crumbled up and mixed up with ice cream.  I will definitely be making these again!

Deep Dark Chocolate Cookies
from Bon Appetit June 2008 as seen on The Way the Cookie Crumbles

Servings: Makes about 24

Nonstick vegetable oil spray
1½ cups bittersweet chocolate chips (about 9 ounces), divided
3 large egg whites, room temperature
2½ cups (10 ounces) powdered sugar, divided
½ cup (1½ ounces) unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tablespoon cornstarch
¼ teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 400°F. Spray 2 large baking sheets with nonstick spray. Melt 1 cup chocolate chips in glass bowl in microwave, stirring twice, about 2 minutes. Cool slightly.

Using electric mixer, beat whites in large bowl to soft peaks. Gradually beat in 1 cup (4 ounces) sugar. Continue beating until mixture resembles soft marshmallow creme. Whisk 1 cup sugar (4 ounces), cocoa, cornstarch, and salt in medium bowl to blend. On low speed, beat dry ingredients into meringue. Stir in lukewarm chocolate and ½ cup chocolate chips (dough will become very stiff).

Place ½ cup (2 ounces) sugar in bowl. Roll 1 rounded tablespoon dough into ball; roll in sugar, coating thickly. Place on prepared sheet. Repeat with remaining dough, spacing 2 inches apart. Bake until puffed and tops crack, about 10 minutes. Cool on sheets on rack 10 minutes. Transfer to rack; cool.


12 Responses

  1. I’m glad you can still get your chocolate cookie fix while you’re avoiding gluten!

  2. The look a bit like those chocolate crinkle cookies. Yum!

  3. This is bad – I have everything to make those cookies now….. must resist, must resist……..

  4. Those look delicious. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Mmm – this could definitely satisfy my chocolate cravings!

  6. [...] 1/2 cups chocolate cookie crumbs (I used cookie crumbs from these Deep Dark Chocolate Cookies, but you can use Oreos, chocolate graham crackers, or regular graham [...]

  7. These are the best cookies- Ever. Sometimes I don’t mix the ingredients together as the directions say, and they still come out perfect!

  8. [...] used chocolate crumbs from these cookies, and omitted the flour in the cheesecake filling (I didn’t notice a difference).  I also [...]

  9. [...] Crust (I used these cookies to make a chocolate crust). Recipe adapted from Gourmet, [...]

  10. […] Crust (I used these cookies to make a chocolate crust). Recipe adapted from Gourmet, […]

  11. […] Crust (I used these cookies to make a chocolate crust). Recipe adapted from Gourmet, […]

  12. […] Crust (I used these cookies to make a chocolate crust). Recipe adapted from Gourmet, […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

