• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Linzer Sables

img_2185

Noskos of Living the Life chose the Linzer Sables for this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe.  We haven’t made a cookie in a long time, and this Christmas cookie is the perfect way to start off December!  I’ve made a version of this cookie before, and it always reminds me of Christmas.  It’s very similar to a thumbprint cookie, and you could even make these into thumbprint cookies to save time but still preserve the flavor of the cookie.

img_2186

These were very easy to put together, although they did require a bit more time than your typical drop cookie because of the chilling time.  Dorie says to roll the dough to 1/4-inch thickness, but I would roll them out thinner than that because I didn’t get anywhere near the number of cookies the recipe called for.  The recipe supposedly yields 25 sandwich cookies, but I only got 14.  If you chill the dough thoroughly enough, you shouldn’t have a problem cutting out the dough, even if it is thinner.  I used strawberry jam for these, but they would be great with any flavor.  I would think that peach and raspberry would be popular choices.  I wish I had a scalloped cookie cutter so that mine would be as nice as Dorie’s but I had to settle for plain, round cookies.  Be sure to visit the Tuesdays with Dorie blog to see everyone else’s beautiful cookies!

14 Responses

  1. These make a wonderful cookie to share for the holidays – nice job!

  2. Your “plain, round cookies” look adorable! I didn’t get nearly as many either, and I rolled the dough out thinner than 1/4″ too. Weird how that happens. Strawberry jam sounds wonderful.

  3. I wish I had rolled mine thinner too.

    I got all of 14 sandwich cookies out of mine.

    Yours look lovely.

  4. they look tasty!! i only got 14 sandwich cookies too. definitely not enough!

  5. These are beautiful! i never have patience to make these but I love when someone else does!

  6. The round shape is cute and perfect, no need for fancy scallop edges. Great job!

  7. I had the same problems with the pictures. I made these yesterday as well, and realized after taking 30 pictures that ALL of them were dark…..

    And I got about the same yield you did -

  8. Yours look great!

  9. I have trouble with pictures too, but most of the time it is a glare I have trouble with.

  10. Making a light box – definitely on my “Things to Do,” too. ;)

  11. These look great!! I can’t wait for some more cookies! :)

  12. Nice looking cookies!! Perfect for gift giving and eating of course!

  13. Yummy looking cookies!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

